TF1 (The Fighter) Season 1.

By Edrich Pienaar

TF1 debuted on global TV on Saturday 14 October 2017. The series builds to the live grand finale on 16 December, taking place at the prestigious Time Square Sun Arena, Menlyn Maine, Pretoria. EFC superstars Demarte Pena (bantamweight champion) and Irshaad Sayed (interim bantamweight champion) will headline the event, finally put their highly publicised feud to bed, as they take the reins as rival coaches in the series.

10 of the best, undefeated middleweight prospects from around the world have been selected to live and train together, as well as compete against each other in a quest to win the ultimate prize – a six-figure contract and a guaranteed shot at EFC middleweight gold

For the teams to be chosen, athletes went through their first day of intense training. In a gruelling selection process with drastic consequences on the line, the 10 contestants were pushed to the edge. Team selection was full of dramatic highs and lows and ultimately the fate of the contenders was set.

Over the 10 episodes they will prepare their hand-picked teams to compete against each other in a series of elimination fights, and ultimately face each other in the grand finale. The teams chosen by the coaches have just been disclosed, and are as follows:

Team Pena:
Ibrahima Mane – Gambia
Gustavo Dias – Brazil
Will Fleury – Ireland
Max Merten – Germany
Mzwandile Hlongwa – South Africa

Team Sayed:
Shaw Dean – Australia
Jenaid Ebanks – England
Brendon Lesar – South Africa
Abd El Driai – Algeria
Mike Diorio – USA




Established in 2010, South African MMA is your home for the latest news, videos and much more from the world of local & international MMA.



Copyright © 2020 South African MMA | Created by Sequeira Creative Media
Scroll to Top